The Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne agreement was an agreement between France, Italy and the United Kingdom, signed in Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne on 26 April 1917 and approved from 18 August to 26 September 1917. It was conceived by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs as an interim agreement for the payment of its interest from the country. It was negotiated and signed mainly by Italian Foreign Minister Sidney Sonnino, as well as the Prime Ministers of Italy, The United States, Britain and France. Russia was not represented in this agreement because the Tsarist regime was in the midst of a fall (see Russian Revolution of 1917). The agreement was necessary by the allies to secure the position of Italian forces in the Middle East. The aim was to compensate for the loss of military power in the Middle Eastern Theatre of the First World War, when Russian (tsarist) troops left the Caucasus countryside, although they were replaced by the so-called Democratic Republic of the Armenian Armed Forces. The British and French governments added to the proposed Italian zone of influence a number of conditions that had not been discussed between the Prime Ministers at the 19 April conference. Italian Foreign Minister Sonnino protested that the Sykes-Picot agreement did not contain such conditions. [7] These discussions lasted until a series of discussions in early August and a final meeting of premiers on August 7. [8] To clearly understand the purpose of this conference, it should be recalled that the so-called London Agreement of 26 April 1915 between Italy, France, the United Kingdom and Russia promised Italy a fair share of Turkey`s division in Asia.

Italy was to obtain territory in the vicinity of Adalia, where it had already acquired rights and interests under an Anglo-Italian contract. At the same time, Russian claims in Constantinople had already been discussed between France and Great Britain, and talks between the two governments had resulted in the Sykes-Picot agreement of 9 May 1916.46 On its terms, France would be assigned the Adana region, while Italy would get the rest of the Anatol, including Izmir (Smyrna).